Mathew James White


  • I'm getting ready to release two albums at the same time. The first album is ''Songs from My Wohnzimmer'', a live album recorded in my flat in front of a handful of my friends on November 1, 2014. "It took the weight off" is the first track off the album
  • The second album is "Life of Learning" from my band Mpath. We've spent three years swapping files over dropbox to get this one ready for you. "I'm On My Way Back" is one of two tracks from the album that you can listen to on our Soundcloud page.
  • Apart from being available at my concerts, both albums will be initially available to those of you on my mailing list. The physical CDs will be available to those living in Germany, while the digital version will be available worldwide. If you want to be added to my mailing list, please email me at & I'll add you to it.
  • More news soon. Best wishes, Mathew.

House concerts: If you would like me to come & do a house concert, It’d be great to hear from you through my e-mail address:


My next album will be out soon!

528 Hz

  1. Rise or Fall
  2. Stay
  3. Fully Woken Up
  4. A Million Miles
  5. High On This Moment
  6. Can't Get Started
  7. Breathe
  8. Cry Like A Baby
  9. See Through
  10. The Worm Has Turned
  11. A Million Miles (Reprise)
  12. The Worm Has Turned (No Strings Attached Mix)

Released in September of 2011, 528Hz is the result of 3 years of critical observation. Musically, it's somewhere between my 2008 release, 'Acoustic Guitars & Ooh La La’s’ & Mpaths’ 2010 release Elevate. The CD is available for download from iTunes, & Amazon among others.

Buy Now

Acoustic Guitars and Ooh La La’s

  1. Intro
  2. These Days
  3. Make It Click
  4. All Makes Sense
  5. Give All Yourself to Me
  6. Happening
  7. Get What’s Deep
  8. Come the Weekend
  9. Taking a Drive
  10. Someday
  11. Nobody Sleeps
  12. Daylight In Your Life

Released in the beginning of 2008, Acoustic Guitars and Ooh La La’s is darker than my first album & is completely acoustic (well actually there’s two tracks that don't have acoustic guitars on them & one of them is an accapala tune!). It followed weekly requests from my fans for an acoustic album. The CD is available for download for only US$7.97 from & iTunes for the usual prices at Mathew James White – Acoustic Guitars & Ooh la La’s among others.

Buy Now

That’s Just Me

  1. Good At Life
  2. Jessica
  3. Ooh Yeah
  4. Say You Love Me
  5. One Half of a Good Thing
  6. Chances
  7. Don’t Try Changing
  8. I’d Give You Flowers
  9. That’s Just Me
  10. Seventh Heaven
  11. Will It Change Soon
  12. Fly Like a Bird (Acoustic Mix)

Released in 2004, That’s Just Me, was my first album. It came about largely after the band I had in London, ‘Hamilton’ broke up. Having said that, there’s only one track on the album that doesn’t feature some of the bands former members and that’s because it’s an acoustic track. Weather it be Guy's great bass playing (Guy plays Bass in ‘Fink’) or the keyboard pop brilliance of Luke Juby. The CD is available for download on iTunes – That’s Just Me, but by far the best deal is here for US$6.49

Buy Now

Gravity (Mpath)

  1. Gravity
  2. Hard Job Loving You
  3. The Queen of In-between
  4. Faithless
  5. More to This
  6. What Do I Call
  7. Cinnamon Sun
  8. Changed Lines
  9. Haven's Green
  10. Geena
  11. Olive
  12. The Final Song

Mpath is a collaboration between London record producer Martyn Phillips, New Zealand singer-songwriter Mathew James White & German drummer Phil Renz. Influences include Calexico, Crowded House and Iron and Wine. Calexico meets Crowded House meets Iron & Wine. Release Date: 2009

Buy Now

Elevate (Mpath)

  1. Sleepwalking
  2. Elevate
  3. Some More Rain
  4. Under The Spotlight
  5. Breathe
  6. Let This Fearing Go
  7. Let Go of the Shore
  8. Hollywood End
  9. Fly Like a Bird
  10. Turn it down
  11. Thaw

Eleven songs from an international gigging alternative pop / rock band with lyrics that are a positive reflection on reality. Drums / bass / acoustic and electric guitars and interesting use of guitar technology. Two lead singers. Release Date: 2010

Buy Now

(Who Will Get The) Marvin Gaye (Mpath)

  1. (Who Will Get The) Marvin Gaye
  2. (Who Will Get The) Marvin Gaye (Demo)

Mpath is the collaboration between multi - million selling record producer, Martyn Phillips, New Zealand singer / songwriter Mathew James White & German drummer Phillip Renz, blending the influences of Calexico The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Elvis Costello, Neil Finn and Radiohead. Release Date: 2008

Buy Now

Local Area Pubs That Could Only Be Described As ‘Toilets’


Wenn dir die Musik von Jack Johnson, Ben Howard, William Fitzsimmons & Father John Misty gefällt, wirst du sicher auch Mathew James White zu schätzen wissen. Der gebürtige Neuseeländer und Neuberliner wird aufgrund seines Repertoires voller eingängig chilliger und mitunter auch funky Melodien oft mit den genannten Größen des Musikbusiness verglichen.

Wie auch Frankfurts You Fm DJ ‘Raffa’ bemerkte, 'Mathew James White ist ganz, ganz ganz toll! ‘Zu Beginn seiner Karriere, damals noch in seiner Heimatstadt Hamilton, Neusseland, verbrachte Mathew die meiste Zeit damit Cover Gigs mit seiner zu Schulzeiten gegründeten Band zu spielen, sowie klassischen Gitarrenvorträgen im starken Kontrast dazu.

Schon bald nach Abschluss der Schule wagte er hat er den Schritt über den Ozean hin zum Nachbarland Australien, wo er die nächsten zehn Jahre bleiben sollte und sich mit zahlreichen Bands über Wasser hielt. Darunter waren zum einen eine Funk-Formation mir Namen "Vibrus", sowie die Band seiner Cousine Jenny Morris, die sich in Australien mit mehreren Top-Ten Hits einen Namen gemacht hat.

1999 war es für Mathew an der Zeit nach Europa, genauer gesagt nach London zu ziehen, wo er innerhalb der nächsten 6 Jahre verschiedene musikalische Beziehungen knüpfen konnte, größtenteils dank eines Veranstaltungsortes – dem Kashmir Klub.



Mathew James White is a New Zealand born, Berlin based singer-songwriter. He is almost always on tour, performing mainly in Germany.

Mathew kicked off his musical career while still at school, naturally enough in New Zealand, playing in a band with school friends in local area pubs that could only be described as ‘toilets’ & constantly arguing with police who would invariably come & check everyone’s proof of age at the concerts. ‘The whole band was under drinking age’ Mathew points out, which was fine, as long as we didn’t drink of course. ‘One night this cop just wasn’t buying my story that I was playing in the band when he came up & asked me for my ID during one of our breaks. A drunk local (ironically & luckily) came to his rescue & the show continued.

read more